Gingered Sweet & Sour Kielbasa

 

Tonight I had no idea what I was going to make for dinner.  I wanted something relatively easy and didn’t want to have to go to the store.  In the fridge was some garlic kielbasa we had bought from Costco and some green peppers.  Maybe a stir-fry?  Nah I always do that for a quick meal. I was enjoying a glass of my pineapple wine (will save that for another post) when inspiration hit me.

Let’s see if I have everything:

1-2 lbs Kielbasa, cut into rounds

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil (eyeball it)

1 Onion, sliced in spirals

1 Green Pepper, cut into chunks

Small can pineapple chunks, drained

2 cloves garlic minced

Fresh ginger, minced…I think I used about a teaspoon or two

1 Cup brown sugar ( I used dark brown sugar but you can use light brown sugar)

1/3 Cup vinegar (I used white wine vinegar)

1/2 Cup Ketchup

Rice

I rarely use precise measurements unless I am baking so I tried putting the approximate amounts.  I usually just keep tasting and add as I need something.

  1. Start your rice if using regular rice or brown rice first and cook according to directions.
  2. Heat the Olive Oil in a sauté pan or wok.  Caramelize the onions.
  3. Add the pineapple and green pepper and stir about 5-7 minutes.  I see if they have a bit of charring.
  4. Add the Kielbasa, garlic and ginger.  Sauté until the Kielbasa is browned.
  5. While the Kielbasa is cooking mix together the brown sugar, vinegar and ketchup.
  6. Add the sauce to the pan and heat with all the ingredients.
  7. Once warmed serve over the rice.

I know I forgot to take pictures.  I will get better the longer I do this.  This would be good with pork or chicken too, although I probably would go with the light brown sugar if I was using pork or chicken. You can obviously tweak this recipe to suit your tastes.  Some quick tweaks I would recommend are adding different color peppers and/ or quartered baby bella mushrooms.

Hope you enjoy and yes the pineapple wine (Maui Blanc) went great with this recipe!!

Leave a Reply

