Banana Nut Whiskey Bread

Everyone has their favorite banana bread recipe and this is mine. It is always a crowd pleaser and what is better than adding some whiskey to the mix.  I wish I could take credit for this recipe but I can’t.  It comes from “The Best of the Best from Alaska cookbook”.  This recipe states it comes from the Ladies of Harley Cookbook.  I am copying the recipe exactly as it appears in the book.  I have made this recipe for years and it yields 2 loaves.

My tips…use very ripe bananas for the best tasting banana bread.  Usually my family is like really you can still use that banana? It is that ripe.  If I am not going to use the bananas right away I will freeze them for later and it still comes out great.  I have made this recipe with all different types of whiskey, recently I used some E & J Brandy.  I always bake with room temperature eggs and room temperature butter.  I first sift my dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder) in a separate bowl. Have my liquids measured and mixed (water, whiskey and vanilla) and bananas smashed in another bowl.  Now I am ready to cream the sugar, butter, and eggs.  Next I want to alternate adding the liquid and flour mixture.  Do this rather quickly as you don’t want to over stir your batter.  Add the bananas and walnuts. Pour into greased and floured loaf pans. Put foil over top to prevent over- browning. Check with a skewer in the middle to see if done. Enjoy!!

                              Ingredients

1 1/2 cups sugar                                 1/2 cup water

1/2 cup butter                                      1 teaspoon vanilla

3 eggs                                                 1 cup Canadian whiskey (blended bourbon)

3 cups flour                                          3 bananas, smashed

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda                1/2 lb chopped walnuts (optional)

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together the sugar, butter, and eggs.  Mix in remaining ingredients, adding smashed bananas last, and beat together. Add nuts, if desired.  Bake in greased loaf pans for 45 minutes.

Note:  Batter should be creamy and pourable.  If sticky, add more whiskey or water to make batter creamy.  If you don’t use the whiskey, use more vanilla for flavor.

Compliments of Ladies of Harley Cookbook via The Best of the Best from Alaska Cookbook

Leave a Reply

