My solo dinner: Cheesy cauliflower, chicken piccata, and wilted salad

So I am home alone for a couple days and ways thinking of going out to eat.  Wait!!  Why go out when I can make a great restaurant meal without spending the money.  Check the fridge, take inventory, get plan….

Cheesy Cauliflower

  • Head of cauliflower
  • 8 ounces sour cream
  • 1 Cup shredded cheese (I used Colby Jack)
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and butter/ spray oil a casserole dish (9X13)
  2. Boil cauliflower in salted water for about 4 minutes until just tender
  3. Meanwhile, in bowl mix together sour cream, 2/3 cheese, and seasonings
  4. Drain cauliflower and add to mixture
  5. Pour cauliflower mixture into casserole dish and bake for 30 minutes

IMG_3317

 Chicken Piccata

The sauce can easily serve 2-4 chicken breasts but once you have an idea on how to make you can scale down to how much you need.  I was making one chicken breast but I will give you the measurements for 2-4 servings.

  • Chicken breasts
  • Butter
  • Olive oil (optional)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Flour (optional)
  • Garlic powder
  • 1/3 cup  or one medium lemon juiced
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth or wine (I use a mixture of both)
  • Capers, 2-3 Tablespoons
  • Parsley
  1. Most Piccata recipes will have you dredge the chicken breasts in flour.  I am choosing not to do that in this recipe.  If you do I always seasoning my flour with at least salt and pepper but never be afraid to add some paprika, thyme or garlic powder.
  2. Heat a skillet with about 2 Tablespoons of Butter.
  3. Seasoning chicken breast with salt, pepper and garlic powder.  Brown in skillet with butter.  Add olive oil if needed.
  4. Once chicken is done, take out of pan and keep warm (ie. I tent with foil)
  5. To skillet add lemon juice, broth/wine mix and capers.  I use a lot of capers but add the amount you like.  Simmer about 5 minutes.

Wilted Salad with Mushrooms

  • Salad mix of Spinach, Kale and Swiss Chard
  • Mushrooms, quartered
  • Green onion, sliced
  • Butter/ Olive oil

I was making enough for one so I used 4 med mushrooms and one green onion with a handful of greens.

  • I used the same skillet from the chicken piccata but you can use a new skillet if necessary
  • Add about 1 Tablespoon butter and a little olive oil over medium heat
  • Sauté the green onion and mushrooms, seasoned with salt and pepper, about 3 minutes
  • Add greens and sauté until wilted
  • Serve immediately

You can serve separately but I placed the wilted salad down on the plate with the chicken breast over top.  The Piccata sauce on top of the chicken and sprinkle with parsley.

IMG_3320 IMG_3318 (2)

Enjoy with a nice white wine!!!  I certainly did.

2 thoughts on “My solo dinner: Cheesy cauliflower, chicken piccata, and wilted salad

Leave a Reply

