Beef Stroganoff Crockpot

I love my crockpots so much that I actually have 2 larger ones and a small one.  I am surprised when I hear of someone who doesn’t own one or never uses it.  It is definitely an essential if you are busy person or have a family and don’t always have time to prepare an evening meal.

This recipe was created on a whim as I was going out of town but wanted to leave my hubby and son a good meal for dinner.  I wasn’t able to try it that night obviously but they both enjoyed it and when I had it the next evening it met my standards and was a keeper.

Ingredients

2 lbs of ground beef

4 cans of cream of mushroom soup

About 6 white mushrooms (button) sliced and about 6 mushrooms quartered*

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 cup onion, chopped

2 Tablespoons Worcestershire

2 bay leaves

1/3 Cup Sherry

1 1/2 Cups broth (beef, chicken, or vegetable)*

1/4 teaspoon thyme

1/2 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1 cup sour cream

Egg noodles

  1. Brown the ground beef in a skillet and drain.
  2. Place the ground beef along with all the ingredients, except the quartered mushrooms, sour cream and egg noodles into the crockpot and stir well.
  3. Set to low for about 6- 8 hours.  I know I have said this in the past about Crockpots…know how it cooks as some even on low really heat fast so know your crockpot. If you have a crockpot that lets you program settings you could do 6 hours on low and then switch to warm.
  4. Half hour before serving add in the quartered mushrooms and the sour cream-  turn to High
  5. Cook your egg noodles per package directions.
  6. Serve over the egg noodles.

You can adjust the amount of mushrooms to your taste.  I like have the sliced ones cook into the stroganoff then have the larger quartered ones added at the end for texture. Baby bellas would be a good choice too. Feel free to add a little more broth at the end if it is too thick for you.  I used Chicken broth as I enjoy a lighter flavor but choice the broth you want.  Another option is to serve the sour cream as a condiment so each diner can put as much as they want on top and mix in.

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

