Balsamic Pork Roast (bone-in, crockpot)

This recipe was adapted from other crockpot recipes I use and from a balsamic chicken recipe I love.  I think my family may be sick of pork but the store kept having sales on it and it is “The Other White Meat”.  This is a very easy, extremely tasty and juicy roast.  Please note that if you buy a boneless tenderloin it will require less cooking as there is no fat.

I used a Bone in pork sirloin roast for this recipe.  Using the bone in gave me some nice slices of pork and then I shredded the rest that was around the bone and smaller pieces.  You could shred it all if you prefer.  My family enjoyed having it two ways.

Ingredients:

  • Bone in pork sirloin roast (mine was about 3 lbs)
  • Sea salt and black pepper (generous eye balling it)
  • 1/2 -1 teaspoon red pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/3 cup chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon Worcestershire
  • 1 Tablespoon honey or agave
  • Fingerling potatoes
  • Carrots, small whole

Rub the roast generously with salt, pepper, red pepper, and garlic.  Now usually, I brown all sides of the meat before I put it into the crock pot to seal in the juices and seasonings, but I didn’t do it this time because I started late.  Feel free to do it both ways as I have gotten good results doing with and without browning the meat.  Place in crockpot.

Mix together the broth, vinegar, Worcestershire and honey and pour over the roast.

FullSizeRender (5)FullSizeRender (4)

Crockpot set on low for 7 hours then added potatoes and carrots.  Removed pork after another hour and turned on high for an hour.  You could add vegetables at the beginning but since we used fingerling and small fresh carrots I was worried they would get too mushy.  If you used a tenderloin the cooking time would be about half and I would be okay with adding the vegetables at the beginning.

If you are doing this while you are working definitely use a bone in or larger roast unless you are starting it on your lunch hour.  The fingerling potatoes and small carrots can go in when you get home  on high (take roast out) while you are getting other things ready for dinner.

I sliced what I could from the roast and covered with foil while the vegetables finished cooking.  I also shredded the rest of the roast and added juice from the crockpot to the meat in the serving dish.  The remaining juice from the crock pot was served along with the meal as an au jus if needed.  The meat was very moist and flavorful. The balsamic adds such a nice rich flavor along with the sweetness from the honey.

You can easily convert this recipe to an oven roasted roast or even use pork chops.

Leave a Reply

