Roasted Beets

I have loved beets since I was little.  I know I was a weird child.  My nana used to make me delicious Harvard Beets all the time.  This recipe is in no way similar to that but a simple recipe for this wonderful root vegetable.  We purchased some lovely red and orange beets at the farmer’s market.  We usually prepare them on the stove top but since I have been on a roasting kick with veggies I decided to give this a shot.

177491183_XS

You can use the beet greens if you want and sauté them but today I am just tossing into the compost.  So simply cut off the tops and the bottom (if it still has a long root) and scrub clean.  Toss with olive oil and place into a foil packet.  I had to put the red and orange into separate packets because the orange beets were a lot smaller.

Place packets onto a baking sheet and place into a 375 degree oven.  Roast between 1-2 hours.  The time depends on the size of the beets.  After one hour check by piercing the beets with  fork every 15 minutes.

Allow to cool and then peel the skin off of the beets.  The skin should easily come off by rubbing your hand on it.

Place olive oil in a sauté pan over medium heat.  Slice the beets and place into the pan.  Sprinkle with sea salt, pepper and fresh thyme.  Sauté about 5-10 minutes and enjoy!

Notes:  You can use a cheaper oil for the roasting part as you are peeling off the skin.

FullSizeRender (12)

Leave a Reply

