Bruschetta with Burrata

 

burrata1I can hear some of you, like my husband…What is Burrata???

It is creamy, goodness that leaves you wanting more.  No really, it IS THAT WONDERFUL.  I can’t remember where I had it first but I do remember thinking OMG!  Why haven’t I had this before.  Now whenever I see it I have to have it.

So what is it you ask again?  It is a fresh cheese of mozzarella and cream.  Basically, it looks like a ball of mozzarella and starts out that way.  The outer shell is mozzarella but the center is filled with curd and cream.  When you cut it open the deliciousness just spills out.burrata2

I am serving this with bruschetta and some marinated tomatoes for those who don’t want the bread.  I took the picture before I added the finishing touches but you can add a drizzle of good aged balsamic vinegar.  The bruschetta mixture I made a bit more salty than the marinated tomatoes to allow a difference in flavor profiles.

Onto the Bruschetta and marinating the tomatoes.  What do you need:  tomatoes, garlic, olive oil, fresh basil, dried oregano, kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper.

For the marinated tomatoes:  We had some beautiful yellow heirlooms from our garden and a bunch of cherry tomatoes.  Cut the tomatoes and season with salt and pepper.  Crush 1 teaspoon of oregano in your hands and add.  Mix in 1/4 cup of torn fresh basil (or chiffonade) and 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil.  Let stand at room temperature for about 1 hour to allow the flavors to come together.  Feel free to adjust seasonings to your taste.

Bruschetta:  Dice tomatoes and place in a colander in the sink.  Sprinkle with kosher salt.   I usually add enough to see and think hmmm is this enough then add a bit more.  Let this sit for at least 15 minutes.  After you make it for a while you will know how much salt to add.  For me I think salt brings out the flavor of the tomato and enhances the Burrata.  Just remember, you can always add more but can’t taketh away.

Meanwhile, in a bowl mix approximately 3 cloves of minced garlic, 1/4 cup of fresh basil, 1/4 teaspoon crushed black pepper, 3 Tablespoons of olive oil.  Now add the tomatoes.  Taste taste taste….you can adjust the seasonings.

Bread:  I like to brush the baguette slices on one side with the olive oil mixtures that I have the tomatoes in so I further infuse the flavor into the bread.  Grill seasoned side down or put under the broiler (seasoned side up).

Leave a Reply

