Chicken Salad

With summer here, salads are what I usually have in the fridge for quick, easy and tasty lunches.  Currently, I have egg salad and chicken salad in the fridge.  Let’s take a look at the Chicken Salad!!IMG_5497

To my husband’s dismay, I am not a nut fan so I don’t put nuts in this chicken salad.  If you are “nutty” feel free to add pecans or walnuts to this salad for a nice crunchy texture.

Ingredients:

  • Dressing:
    • 1 cup mayo (I prefer Miracle Whip, but use your favorite brand)
    • 1 tablespoon poppy seeds
    • 4 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
    • 5 teaspoons honey
    • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
    • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
    • 1 teaspoon dried tarragon or 1 1/2 teaspoons fresh tarragon
  • 2 poached chicken breasts, shredded or cubed
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped
  • ~ 1 cup red seedless grapes, halved
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup pecans/ walnuts, chopped (optional)

What I love about this is you can add more or less of the celery, grapes, nuts to what suits your taste.

I will discuss poaching chicken in the next post but you can shred or cube your chicken.  If I use chicken breasts I will cube the chicken.  This time I used bone in whole chicken breasts with ribs, so it was easier to shred after I poached the chicken.  Either way is fine.

Looking for a time saver?  Use store bought rotisserie chicken or canned chicken.

Combine all dressing ingredients together then add your dry ingredients.  Stir and refrigerate to allow the flavors to come together.

You can make the dressing ahead of time and refrigerate while you are poaching your chicken.  Allow your chicken to cool before adding to your dressing.

Use in a sandwich or on top of greens.

Leave a Reply

